Getsumen To Heiki Miina… the game?

August 8, 2007

I was recently looking on YesAsia for the album art for HIGH and MIGHTY COLOR’s new single “Dreams” for the purpose of adding it to iTunes. While in the process, I noticed Another Century’s Episode 3, a game which I could not be anticipating the release of more. As it happens, a link on A.C.E. 3’s page showed something that was so absurd I had to check it out.

A PS2 game for Getsumen To Heiki Miina.

This was simply too absurd. I had to try it. A quick trip through the miracle of BitTorrent yielded results.

After getting the game up and running, I sat through about an hour of dialog screens. On and on, trying the limits of my Japanese to get the gist of what was going on. During all this dialog, with its unanimated but gorgeous images of the (mostly female) characters I thought… this is a lot like a galge. After much idle chatter, an action scene! I was dealt a hand of cards, a 6 a 4 and two 3’s, with different colors. The enemy rabbit alien also had a hand. We both played a 6. It died. Then, we’re back to dialog.

At this point, I decided to dig into the net again and try to find out what’s up with this game. “Sparse” is not a strong enough adjective to describe the lack of information, but I did find some minor tidbits in some blog posts. Seems that though it’s a card based RPG (similar to those Famicom and Super Famicom DBZ games I never figured out), you spend most of your time conversing and trying to build relationships with the girls.

AHA! It is a galge! It all makes sense now.

Anyway, given the combination of a type of RPG which I will never figure out without a manual, and a game of relationships that would be crippled by my current level of Japanese, I doubt I will be playing this any more. However, it was an amusing way to kill an hour before being shelved as the most ridiculously unnecessary game in my collection.

Leave a Reply

