Star Trek movies

September 9, 2007

I’m going to diverge a bit from what I usually talk about here and discuss Star Trek. If you need to apply it to the Japan or Apple main themes of the blog, Sulu is Japanese and there’s a Mac in Star Trek IV. šŸ˜›

I recently bought the Star Trek Motion Pictures Collection, a box set of all 10 Star Trek feature films. The set is compiled from the 2-disc editions of each film which are available independently. Content-wise, the set is pretty good. Copious special features are included on the second disc of each film, and there are commentaries on the main discs. DTS audio is included on the later films, though I wish we could have gotten a DTS mix for all of them. Video is presented in anamorphic widescreen with no major flaws in the encodings despite all the heavy use of dark colors in the space scenes.

The only real gripe I have here is the packaging. Some odd decisions were made. Most obviously is the use of cases which are 50% wider than the standard DVD case. There’s no reason to do this with only two discs per case, especially since it uses the same sort of double hub design used in the Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex limited edition releases. There aren’t even booklets included to necessitate a wider case, in fact all but one of the films don’t even have an insert. All these wide cases have accomplished is make the set take up an unnecessary amount of shelf space, which is annoying. Also, while most of the discs use a uniform silver label, a couple feature artwork from the film, which is just strangely inconsistent. Also in terms of inconsistency, the cover of the first film is gold rather than silver like the other 9. Why is this one different? The only thing I can think of is to call attention to the fact that this is the “Director’s Edition” version released in 1991 with new effects rather than the 1979 original. I think that’s pretty well covered by the fact that it plainly says “Director’s Edition” below the title.

Anyway, my griping about design consistency aside, this is a really worthwhile set at a good price. You should have no problem getting it online in the US $70-80 range.

As for the films themselves, this was actually the first time I’d seen Nemesis. I just never got around to it before. Overall, I didn’t find it as bad as I’d heard. Not the greatest, but I’d still take it over I or V in a heartbeat. I had of course heard the big spoiler about the film some time ago, it’s hard to avoid on the Internet. I’m glad though that like Spock’s death in II, they left the door propped open for Data’s return in a future film. Also, I believe this was the first time in my life I actually made it all the way through Star Trek I in one sitting without falling asleep! Damn that is a dull movie.

Leave a Reply

